11-12-13

This date is very significant to me. In December last year, I was with my very good friend who I met through work, we were sitting in a bar at the Woodford Folk Festival drinking in the atmosphere, and I announced that on the 11th of December 2013 I would be quitting my job, no matter what. Unless things magically improved.  Which they didn’t.

But magical improvements started happening elsewhere in my life.

  • Went back to yoga.  I listened to my voice inside that told me this is what I needed most.
  • Spent 6 months with big-hearted people learning to be a yoga teacher.  So much yoga, mindful yoga, started to break away the outer layers revealing more of the true me inside.
  • I went on a karate camp, made friends and became closer with people I’d previously only seen at training.  Also did a tournament for the first time.  And kept training, now I’m 7th kyu.
  • I went on 2 yoga retreats.  1 was part of the training course, another was a restorative retreat to relax and soften further.  I long to teach restorative yoga now I have certification.
  • Intuition opened up and an opportunity revealed itself.  I was able to leave my job a few months sooner than planned.  I went straight to another job with familiar lovely people, there is no stress, I work less and have 1 day off during the week, and I’m so much happier.  The pay is lower and it’s not exactly using my hard-earned accounting degree, but I’m OK with this.  It was tiring trying to be someone I wasn’t.
  • The day I graduated from yoga school I organised all the required insurances, business registrations etc and started teaching weekly donation only classes to my karate friends at the dojo.  Week by week and it’s getting easier.  People are coming back.
  • A friend from yoga asked if I’d fill in a couple of her spots teaching yoga at a local gym.  My first ever paid yoga job was today, 11/12/13.  Coincidence?  The class went well, they seemed happy and I will see them next Wednesday.  Feeling like a real yoga teacher now.

In the final days of 2012 I had no inkling that by this date today I would be teaching yoga, I would not have believed anyone that might have suggested it.  All I knew then was that I needed to make changes, and to sit with myself and explore.  When I started to play with the idea of teaching yoga I was scared of the reactions if I said it out loud.  It was so funny how many people told me they could totally see me as a yoga teacher.  My business persona clearly wasn’t fooling anybody.

1476681_172780419595194_1535887689_n

 

About ikigaigirl

Ikigai (My purpose in life... I'll let you know when I find it) + Girl (depends on perspective, in 60 years I'll be 100 so I think I can still call myself a girl) I'm married to Mr Ikigaiguy and we have 2 kids and 2 dachshunds. View all posts by ikigaigirl

Comments are disabled.

Everyday Chakras

Practical information and inspiration to help you balance your chakras

If you tolerate this then your daughters will be next

Learning how to behave like a socially acceptable woman

Martial Arts Diary

working towards my black belt

morningtao

A cup o'Zen to start the day

Oh She Glows

A few thoughts on karate, self-improvement and the joyful pursuit of a life worth living.

Karate Daily

thoughts on karate and daily life

anitakaiser

Join me for this fantastic adventure we call life on earth!

The Yoga Shift

shift happy

The Magick & The Mundane

The musings of an itinerant martial philosopher...

The Grumpy Giraffe

Critiques on social and education issues

Mike's Haiku Life

One Man's Life, Seventeen Syllables at a Time

Brain Pickings

A few thoughts on karate, self-improvement and the joyful pursuit of a life worth living.

Not Buying Anything

A few thoughts on karate, self-improvement and the joyful pursuit of a life worth living.

A few thoughts on karate, self-improvement and the joyful pursuit of a life worth living.

zenhabits

A few thoughts on karate, self-improvement and the joyful pursuit of a life worth living.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

